Florence Summer 2014 Ethics Reading Schedule

From Alfino
Jump to: navigation, search

Return to Ethics Florence Summer 2014

Monday May 19, 2014

  • Introductions
  • Course Introduction
  • Websites in the course. Wiki instruction.
  • Course research questions
  • Study Questions
  • The Prep Cycle
  • Distribution of film, "Girlfriend in a Coma"

Tuesday May 20, 2014

  • Ariely, "Why We Lie"
  • Watch Girlfriend in a coma (file) and make a list of all the moral problems and ethical questions treated

Wednesday May 21, 2014

  • Haidt, Righteous Mind (RM), Intro and Chapter 1, "Where Does Morality Come From?"

Thursday May 22, 2014

  • Haidt, "The Divided Self"

Monday May 26, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 2, "The Intuitive Dog and It's Rational Tail"

Tuesday May 27, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 3, "Elephants Rule"

Wednesday May 28, 2014

  • Background on the Terri Shiavo case: [1]
  • Luchetti, Marco, "Eluana Englaro, chronical of a death foretod: ethical consideration on the recent right-to-die case in Italy
  • Option for viewing Bella Adormentata (Sleeping Beauty) today at 4pm in Room 201.

Thursday, May 29, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 4, "Vote For Me"

Monday June 2, 2014

  • Holiday

Tuesday June 3, 2014

  • Bellocchio, Marco, Bella Addormentata (Discussion)

Wednesday June 4, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 5, "Beyond WEIRD Morality"

Thursday June 5, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 6, "Taste Buds of the Righteous Mind"

Monday June 9, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 7, "The Moral Foundations of Politics"

Tuesday June 10, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 9, "Why are we so Groupish?"

Wednesday June 11, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 10, "The Hive Switch"

Thursday June 12, 2014

  • Sandel, Utilitarianism
  • Singer, One World, Chapter 1, "A Changing World"

Monday June 16, 2014

  • Sandel, Rawls

Tuesday June 17, 2014

  • Singer, "Rich and Poor"
  • Sachs, Jeffrey, from The End of Poverty, Chapter 15, "Can the Rich Afford to Help the Poor?"

Wednesday June 18, 2014

Thursday June 19, 2014

  • Thompson, Judith Jarvis, "A Defense of Abortion" (Part 2)
  • Critics of Thompson

Monday June 23, 2014

  • "Food, Inc."
  • something on Italian food production system.

Tuesday June 24, 2014

  • Holiday

Wednesday June 25, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 12, "Can't We all Disagree more Constructively?"
  • Review

Thursday June 26, 2014

  • Exam