Spring 2015 Ethics Reading Schedule

From Alfino
Jump to: navigation, search

Return to Ethics

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

  • Introduction to Course

Thursday, January 15, 2015

  • Ariely, ""Why We Lie""

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

  • Cooper, Chapter 1; Haidt, ""The Divided Self"

Thursday, January 22, 2015

  • Haidt, The Righteous Mind, Intro and Chapter 1

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

  • Cooper, Chapter 5; Singer, Chapter 1, ""About Ethics""

Begin Rubric norming exercise - Group Short Answer

  • How do Turiel, Schweder, and Haidt's research challenge the view of rationalist developmental psychology?

Thursday, January 29, 2015

  • Aristotle, Nichomachean Ethics, Book 1 (you can skip Section 6)

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 2

Thursday, February 5, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 3

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

  • Aristotle, Book 2;
  • Haidt, "Out-Take" on Virtue Ethics (4 pages);

Thursday, February 12, 2015

  • Aristotle, Book 3
  • Bloom, Ch. 5, "Bodies"

Begin SA #1 - Peerceptiv

  • Explain Haidt's claim that "intuitions come first, reasoning second" and present some of the support for it. How radical a claim is it in relationship to other models or metaphors for consciousness both in previous philosophy and psychology?

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

  • de Waal, Intro and 5-21.
  • Haidt, Chapter 4

Thursday, February 19, 2015

  • de Waal, 21-42;
  • Bloom, Ch 1, "The Moral Life of Babies"

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

  • de Waal, 42-58; Bloom, Ch 2, "Empathy and Compassion"

Thursday, February 26, 2015

  • Korsgaard, ""Morality and the Distinctiveness of Human Action"

Begin SA #2 - Peerceptiv

  • Are prosocial emotions, such as sympathy, compassion, and empathy the basis of moraity? How relevant are they to contemporary human morality?

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

  • Singer, ""Morality, Reason, and the Rights of Animals"" (in de Waal) (140-151)

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Optional Midterm

  • “Present and critically evaluate Singer’s argument in “Morality, Reason and the Rights of Animals”. In particular, try to assess the extent to which “disinterestedness, impartiality and universalization” are necessary characteristics of human morality. Use arguments, cases, and examples to support your thesis. Answer in 500 words or less.


  • I will use the Flow, Logic, and Insight dimensions for the rubric on this assignment. Please email it to me with only your student id on the document (not your name). Save the document with your student id then “301midterm” in the file name.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 5 & 6

Thursday, March 19, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 7

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

  • Sandel, Chapter 3: Libertarianism; Haidt, Chapter 8

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Begin SA #3 - Peerceptiv

  • Sandel, Chapter 2: Utilitarianism

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

  • Sandel, Chapter 5: Kant

Thursday, April 2, 2015

  • This class is cancelled.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

  • Sandel, Chapter 6: Rawls
  • Singer, "Rich and Poor"

Thursday, April 9, 2015

  • This class will be online due to conference travel. I will post a short audio to go with the usual class notes and study questions.
  • Sachs, "Can the Rich Help the Poor?"

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

  • Singer, "A Changing World";
  • Singer, "One Atmosphere"

Thursday, April 16, 2015

  • due to the confusion I caused by prepping Haidt Ch. 9 for Tuesday, please prep Singer for today and review Ch. 9 as well. - Thanks. Alfino
  • Haidt, Chapter 9

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Begin Critical Analysis Paper

  • Haidt, Chapter 10
  • Paper workshop

Thursday, April 23, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 11
  • Paper workshop

April 27th: Rough draft of paper due to Peerceptiv by midnight

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

  • Haidt, Chapter 12

Thursday, April 30, 2015

May 1: Comment on four peer papers by midnight

May 4: Final Draft due to ALFINO (email attachment or print delivered to Rebmann 203)

  • Eco, ""When the Other Appears on the Scene""; Bloom, Chapter 7

Thursday, May 7, 2015

  • Final exam: 3:30 - 5:30 - One essay, open book, open note