Summer 2014 Philosophy of Culture Reading Schedule

From Alfino
Jump to: navigation, search

Return to Philosophy of Culture: Benin


Thursday June 5, 2014

  • LC Packet: Reader, The Atlantic Slave Trade (pp. 377-403)
  • Culture: Coates, Tim, "King Guezo of Dahomey, 1850-52" (1-23, 79-83, 161-167, 185-195)


Monday June 9, 2014

  • Culture: Geertz, "Thick Description"

Tuesday June 10, 2014

  • Culture: Hessling O'Neil, "The Person who does you wrong..."
  • Culture: Hammer, Joshua, "On the Vodun Trail"

Wednesday June 11, 2014

  • LC Packet: Gardinier and Beierschenk -- Francophone Africa and Benin Politics

Thursday June 12, 2014

  • Culture: Blier, "Chapter 1: Vodun Art, Social History and the Slave Trade" (23-54)

Monday June 16, 2014

  • LC Packet: Mama, Kpai, Hass: View the Kpai and Hass video over the course of the week.


Tuesday June 17, 2014

  • Rosenthal, Judy, "Religious Traditions of the Togo and Benin Ewe" (182-196)

Wendnesday June 18, 2014

  • LC Packet: Millenium Development Goals for Benin and Easterly reading. Browse links on Learning Community site and look up other health and development data, and save notes for in country discussion.


Thursday June 19, 2014

Monday July 7, 2014

  • Sachs, Jeffrey, The End of Poverty, Chapter 3, "Why Some Countries Fail to Thrive"


Tuesday, July 8, 2014

  • Easterly (from LC Packet), "Seekers vs. Planners"
  • Easterly, Chapter 2, "The Legend of the Big Push"

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

  • Karlan and Appel, More than Good Intentions, Chapters 4, 6, and 7


Thursday, July 10, 2014

  • Acemoglu and Robinson, from Why Nations Fail

Monday July 14, 2014

  • Review of Millenium Development Goals and updated indicators of well-being from your research.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

  • Sharing of your research with class online.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014

  • Songhai Self-Study