Summer2 2014 Ethics Course Reading Schedule

From Alfino
Jump to: navigation, search

Return to Ethics -- Benin

All readings are available from the course website (alfino.org) as pdfs.


Thursday June 5, 2014

Monday June 9, 2014

  • LC Packet: Reader, The Atlantic Slave Trade (pp. 377-403)
  • Ethics: Ariely, "Why We Lie"

Tuesday June 10, 2014

  • Ethics: Haidt, Righteous Mind (RM), Intro and Chapter 1, "Where Does Morality Come From?"

Wednesday June 11, 2014

  • Ethics: Haidt, "The Divided Self"

Thursday June 12, 2014

  • LC Packet: Gardinier and Beierschenk -- Francophone Africa and Benin Politics
  • First Group Responses: Benin Learning Community and Ethics course

Monday June 16, 2014

  • LC Packet: Mama, Kpai, Hass: View the Kpai and Hass video over the course of the week.

Tuesday June 17, 2014

  • Ethics: Haidt Chapter 2, "The Intuitive Dog and It's Rational Tail"
  • Ethics: Haidt Chapter 3, "Elephants Rule"

Wendnesday June 18, 2014

  • Ethics: Haidt Chapter 4, "Vote For Me"

Thursday June 19, 2014

  • LC Packet: Millenium Development Goals for Benin and Easterly reading. Browse links on Learning Community site and look up other health and development data, and save notes for in country discussion.
  • Ethics: Haidt Chapter 5, "Beyond WEIRD Morality"

Monday July 7, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 6, "Taste Buds of the Righteous Mind"
  • Haidt, Chapter 7, "The Moral Foundations of Politics"

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 9, "Why are we so Groupish?"

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

  • Haidt, Chapter 10, "The Hive Switch"

Thursday, July 10, 2014

  • Sandel, Utilitarianism
  • Singer, One World, Chapter 1, "A Changing World"

Monday July 14, 2014

  • Sandel, Rawls
  • Singer, "Rich and Poor"


Tuesday, July 15, 2014

  • I'll leave this part of the schedule open right now. We might be writing papers or looking at ethical issues relevant to Benin (development, corruption, and health issues, for example)


Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014